

Council

The Annual meeting of the Council will be held at The Great Hall at The Guildhall, Northampton, NN1 1DE on Thursday 16 May 2024 at 6.00 pm or upon the rising of the earlier meeting of Council

Councillors are hereby summoned to attend

Agenda

1.	Election of Chairman of West Northamptonshire Council
2.	Appointment of Vice-Chairman of West Northamptonshire Council
3.	Apologies for Absence
4.	Declarations of Interest
	Members are asked to declare any interest and the nature of that interest which they may have in any of the items under consideration at this meeting.
5.	Chairman's Announcements
	To receive communications from the Chairman of the Council.
6.	Minutes of Council (Pages 5 - 22)
	To confirm the Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 21 March 2024.
7.	Appointment of Leader of the Council
8.	Committee Proportionality and Appointment of Members to Committees and Other Bodies (Pages 23 - 28)

9.	Calendar of Meetings 2024-25 (Pages 29 - 34)
10.	Urgent Business (previously agreed with the Chairman)
	The Chairman to advise whether they have agreed to any items of urgent business being admitted to the agenda.
11.	Exclusion of Press and Public
	In respect of the following items the Chairman may move the resolution set out below, on the grounds that if the public were present it would be likely that exempt information (information regarded as private for the purposes of the Local Government Act 1972) would be disclosed to them: The Committee is requested to resolve: "That under Section 100A of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting for the following item(s) of business on the grounds that if the public were present it would be likely that exempt information under Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act of the descriptions against each item would be disclosed to them"

Catherine Whitehead Proper Officer 8 May 2024

1

Council Members:

Councillor John Shephard (Chair)

Councillor Ann Addison Councillor Jamal Alwahabi Councillor Anthony S. Bagot-Webb Councillor Dermot Bambridge Councillor William Barter Councillor Phil Bignell Councillor Phil Bignell Councillor Rebecca Breese Councillor Michael Brown Councillor Alan Chantler Councillor Nazim Choudary Councillor Paul Clark Councillor Maggie Clubley Councillor Jo Gilford (Vice-Chair)

L

Councillor Rufia Ashraf Councillor Azizur Rahman Councillor Fiona Baker Councillor Harry Barrett Councillor Sally Beardsworth Councillor Lizzy Bowen Councillor Adam Brown Councillor Muna Cali Councillor Pinder Chauhan Councillor Imran Ahmed Chowdhury BEM Councillor Stephen Clarke Councillor Fiona Cole **Councillor Raymond Connolly Councillor Daniel Cribbin Councillor Janice Duffy Councillor Terrie Eales Councillor Penelope Flavell Councillor Rupert Frost** Councillor Matt Golby **Councillor Andrew Grant Councillor Enam Haque Councillor Jonathan Harris Councillor Rosie Herring** Councillor James Hill **Councillor Keith Holland-Delamere Councillor Rosie Humphreys Councillor David James Councillor Paul Joyce** Councillor Anna King Councillor Phil Larratt Councillor Malcolm Longley **Councillor Charles Manners** Councillor Ian McCord Councillor Colin Morgan Councillor Jonathan Nunn Councillor Ken Pritchard Councillor Wendy Randall **Councillor Jake Roberts Councillor Cathrine Russell Councillor Brian Sargeant** Councillor David Smith **Councillor Richard Solesbury-Timms** Councillor Laura Stevenson Councillor Winston Strachan **Councillor Walter Tarasiewicz**

Councillor Karen Cooper Councillor Julie Davenport Councillor Paul Dyball Councillor Alison Eastwood **Councillor Louisa Fowler Councillor Terry Gilford** Councillor André González De Savage **Councillor Mike Hallam** Councillor Lauryn Harrington-Carter **Councillor Cheryl Hawes Councillor Stephen Hibbert** Councillor Nigel Hinch **Councillor Mark Hughes** Councillor Cecile Irving-Swift **Councillor Koulla Jolley** Councillor Andrew Kilbride **Councillor Jamie Lane Councillor Daniel Lister** Councillor Greg Lunn **Councillor Peter Matten** Councillor Dennis Meredith **Councillor Charles Morton Councillor Kevin Parker Councillor Bob Purser Councillor Emma Roberts** Councillor Sam Rumens **Councillor Lisa Samiotis Councillor Sue Sharps** Councillor Zoe Smith **Councillor Carl Squires Councillor Danielle Stone Councillor Nick Sturges-Alex Councillor Mike Warren**

Information about this Agenda

Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence and the appointment of substitute Members should be notified to <u>democraticservices@westnorthants.gov.uk</u> prior to the start of the meeting.

Declarations of Interest

Members are asked to declare interests at item 2 on the agenda or if arriving after the start of the meeting, at the start of the relevant agenda item

Local Government and Finance Act 1992 – Budget Setting, Contracts & Supplementary Estimates

Members are reminded that any member who is two months in arrears with Council Tax must declare that fact and may speak but not vote on any decision which involves budget setting, extending or agreeing contracts or incurring expenditure not provided for in the agreed budget for a given year and could affect calculations on the level of Council Tax.

Evacuation Procedure

If a continuous fire alarm sounds you must evacuate the building via the nearest available fire exit. Members and visitors should proceed to the assembly area as directed by Democratic Services staff and await further instructions.

Access to Meetings

If you have any special requirements (such as a large print version of these papers or special access facilities) please contact the officer named below, giving as much notice as possible before the meeting.

Mobile Phones

Please ensure that any device is switched to silent operation or switched off.

Queries Regarding this Agenda

If you have any queries about this agenda please contact Democratic Services via the following:

Tel: Email: <u>democraticservices@westnorthants.gov.uk</u>

Or by writing to:

West Northamptonshire Council The Guildhall St Giles Street Northampton NN1 1DE